1. Home
  2. Short excursion
  3. Rank in nobility

Rank in nobility

Rang im Adel - Adelstitel kaufen

    The influence of the nobility has been greater before. Nevertheless, the title of nobility and noble rank still have a resounding splendor. Interest in the nobility remains high. In the gossip rags, nobles fill entire pages with their doings. But what titles of nobility actually exist? How has the nobility developed over time? What is the ranking of the nobility?

    The development of the nobility over time

    Baron im Angelsächsischen England

    In the Middle Ages, the nobility was the leading class of society. Led by the king, the nobles organized the entire state. The higher the rank of the nobility, the higher was their social classification and importance. In addition, there were considerable differences between the high and low nobility. The high nobility was shaped by the king and emperor as well as the princes. The members of the high nobility took care of the duties of the government, while the lower nobility was merely privileged. The lower nobility did not pay any taxes in the Middle Ages and could make a career in the state. Compared to the common people and bourgeoisie. the nobility had more social participation, participation in cultural life and a certain position of power.

    In the Middle Ages, the position of power of the nobility suffered. Over time, the bourgeoisie increasingly gained economic and also political influence. The French Revolution was then the beginning of the end of aristocratic supremacy. In Germany, the end of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation in 1806 was already a step towards the disempowerment of the nobility. This lasted for over a century. Then in 1918 the deposition of the German Emperor took place. The proclamation of the Weimar Republic and the adoption of the Imperial Constitution meant that the nobility lost its prerogatives. The title of nobility was henceforth only a part of the name. The name affix henceforth meant no more power.

    The different ranks

    Numerous titles of nobility often make the overview difficult for the layman. In the following article you will find a list of all noble titles from Europe. This ranges from the Middle Ages to modern times. In the explanations also information about predicate titles and nobility predicate are contained. The listing is in descending order. For from the emperor to the nobleman there are numerous titles of nobility.

    Emperor / Tsar

    The highest noble ruler title is the emperor. This was called Tsar in Russian, female rulers in Russia were called Tsaritsa. The descendants of a tsar bear the title of prince or princess. This is different with the Russian tsars. Here the son is called Tsarevich and the daughter Tsareva. Also common are the terms Grand Prince or Grand Duchess for the descendants of a tsar.

    The emperor is addressed as "Imperial Majesty". Descendants are referred to as Imperial Highness.

    King

    After the emperor comes the king. The king is the second highest noble title in the noble order. The king or queen are the highest dignitaries in a monarchy. In addition to the role of legislative power, the king also takes care of jurisdiction and executive decisions. The noble king thus combines all the powers of the state.

    The offspring of the king and queen are also referred to as prince and princess. When subjects address the king directly, it is done with "Royal Majesty". The prince and princess are also the "Royal Highness" here.

    Archduke

    The archduke is a title of nobility that belonged to the rulers of an archduchy. These were in particular the members of the Habsburgs or the Archduchy of Austria. The descendants of the houses were also considered archdukes. The form of address changed over the years. Initially, the title was Durchlauchtigste/r (Most Serene), while later the predicate title was also Kaiserliche or Königliche Hoheit (Imperial or Royal Highness).

    Grand Duke

    Another duke was the so-called grand duke. This title of nobility was due to those princes whose rank was between the duke and the respective king. The grand duke thus had less power than the king, but mostly more influence than a conventional duke. The descendants were often also considered prince and princess. It was also common to address the children as hereditary grand duke or grand duchess. The title "Allerdurchlauchigste/r" (Most Serene) was common as a predicate title. In certain grand duchies, such as Hesse, Luxembourg or Baden, a different form of address was preferred. Here, the grand duke was the Royal Highness.

    Prince Elector

    The Elector was the highest-ranking prince in the Holy Roman Empire. The Electors alone had the authority and power to decide the election of the Roman-German King in the 13th century. The elector could also hold various titles of nobility. Electors were for example landgraves, archbishops or even kings. The first composition of the electoral committee of a king consisted of seven electors. Four of them had the honour of nobility from a secular point of view, while three electors were of ecclesiastical origin. In the 17th century the number increased to nine electors. Later, the so-called Electoral College, which met to elect the king, even consisted of ten members.

    After the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire by Napoleon, there was only one elector. Only Hesse-Kassel remained an electorate. Legally, the Elector was henceforth on a par with the Landgrave. In the course of time the title for an elector was Durchlauchigste/r or Königliche Hoheit. In contrast, the children were called Kurprinz and Kurprinzessin.

    Duke

    The origin of the noble title of duke is rooted in Germanic history. The duke was the Germanic army commander. In the course of time, the duke became a royal office holder, who was primarily responsible for military tasks. The salutation of the ruling duke was "Royal Highness". After the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation, the dukes lost their rights of rule. From then on, the dukes were simply sovereigns and were addressed as "Serene Highness".

    Landgrave

    The landgrave is a noble title that occurs exclusively in German-speaking countries. Especially in Thuringia and Hesse there were some landgraves. In 1803, the Hessian Landgrave was elevated to the rank of Elector. The landgraves were equal to the rank of duke. The descendants are the prince and the princess. Only the last Landgrave of Hesse-Homburg was called Royal Highness. With all other landgraves the predicate titles Highness and Serene Highness applied.

    Count Palatine

    In history, the Count Palatine had the task of assisting the king and emperor in the administration. The Palgrave presided over the court at the royal court. Petitioners had to come to the Count Palatine and present their concerns to him. Initially, there was a Palgrave in each duchy. Later, there was only the Count Palatine of the Rhine, as most of the counties were assigned to a large principality over the years. The descendants were also regarded as prince and princess. The form of address for the Count Palatine was usually "Durchlaucht". Exceptionally, the Elector of things as Count Palatine was addressed as "Royal Highness".

    Marquis

    Until the end of the 11th century, the nobles in the border area of the empire were called margraves. This leadership role was not elaborated. In the Holy Roman Empire, the title of nobility no longer had a geographical reference. Rather, the noble title of margrave stood for a rank within the imperial princely hierarchy. The margrave was equal to the rank of duke in the Middle Ages. The prestige was not the same in every place. In many countries the margrave belonged to the lower nobility. There was no ruling function for the margrave. The form of address varied from "Durchlaucht" (Serene Highness) to "Erlaucht" (Illustrious): the descendants are the prince and princess even among the lower nobility.

    Prince

    The prince was the ruler over various lands. If the land was designated as a principality, the princes ruled over land. The form of address of the princes was "High Princely Serene Highness". Few princes possessed the special honor of being addressed as Highness. The hereditary princes and princesses were the descendants of the princes. Partly the title of the prince was lost in the history also only honorary. Then no rights of rule and power went along with the title. Rather, the holder of the title of nobility did not belong to the high nobility at this rank. Otto Prince von Bismarck is probably the best known of his kind.

    Baron / Baron

    On the lowest level of the so-called titular nobility are the baron and baron. Below that, there are only the nobles, for whom there is only a nobility predicate such as "von" or "zu", but no nobility title. Equal are the baron and the baron. The male descendants carry on the title, while the female descendants are considered Baroness or Freiin. The relatives are addressed as Highborn, which corresponds to the noble status of the nobility.

    Knight / Noble / Lord of / Lady of / Countryman of

    At the bottom of the order of precedence are the knights, noble, lord of, lady of, and countryman of. To be knighted, aspirants had to meet numerous criteria. From the 19th century onwards, knights then belonged to a noble class of their own. Those who were knighted received a title of nobility.

    In contrast, the title "noble" was not a title of nobility, but merely a noble predicate. This applied to the entire family - both parents and descendants was called noble / noble. In the order of rank, the noble is below the knight beaten.

    The "Lord" used to be the status designation. Herr von or Frau von were considered noble designations. In contrast, the untitled nobility in a country was referred to as Landmann. All lower titles of nobility were addressed as Hochwohlgeboren.

    Rate this article

    [Total: 1 Average: 5]
    Noble Privilegien - Titelbild
    Short excursion

    Noble privileges

    On the one hand, the title of nobility is considered exceedingly noble. Anyone who walks through the streets as a nobleman or who has a booking as a...
    Menu

Kleine Exkursion » Rang im Adel

Adelstitel und Adelsrang – von der Vergangenheit bis in die Gegenwart 

Der Einfluss des Adels war schonmal größer. Nichtsdestotrotz haben der Adelstitel und Adelsrang immer noch einen klangvollen Glanz. Das Interesse am Adel ist ungebrochen groß. In den Klatschblättern füllen Adelige ganze Seiten mit ihrem Treiben. Doch was für Adelstitel gibt es eigentlich? Wie hat sich der Adel im Laufe der Zeit entwickelt? Wie sieht die Rangfolge des Adels aus? 

Die Entwicklung des Adels im Laufe der Zeit 

Im Mittelalter war der Adel die führende Gesellschaftsschicht. Angeführt vom König organisierten die Adeligen den gesamten Staat. Je höher der Rang des Adels war, desto höher war dessen soziale Einstufung und Bedeutung. Zudem gab es beträchtliche Unterschiede zwischen dem Hoch- und Niederadel. Der Hochadel wurde geprägt von König und Kaiser sowie den Fürsten. Die Angehörigen des Hochadels kümmerten sich um die Aufgaben der Regierung, während der Niederadel lediglich privilegiert war. Der Niederadel zahlte keinerlei Steuern im Mittelalter und konnte Karriere im Staat machen. Im Vergleich zum gemeinen Volk und Bürgertum. hatte der Adel mehr gesellschaftliche Anteilnahme, Mitbestimmung im kulturellen Leben und eine gewisse Machtstellung. 

Im Mittelalter litt die Machtstellung des Adels. Im Laufe der Zeit gewann das Bürgertum zunehmend wirtschaftlichen und auch politischen Einfluss. Die französische Revolution war dann das Anfang vom Ende der adeligen Vorherrschaft. In Deutschland war bereits 1806 das Ende des Heiligen Römischen Reichs Deutscher Nation ein Schritt in Richtung Entmachtung des Adels. Diese dauerte über ein Jahrhundert. 1918 fand dann die Absetzung des deutschen Kaisers statt. Der Ausruf der Weimarer Republik und die Verabschiedung der Reichsverfassung bedeuteten, dass der Adel seine Vorrechte verlor. Der Adelstitel war fortan nur noch ein Teil des Namens. Der Namenszusatz bedeutete fortan keine Macht mehr. 

Die verschiedenen Ränge 

Zahlreiche Adelstitel machen den Überblick für den Laien häufig schwer. Im folgenden Beitrag finden Sie eine Aufstellung sämtlicher Adelstitel aus Europa. Diese reicht vom Mittelalter bis zur Neuzeit. In den Ausführungen sind auch Informationen über Prädikatstitel und Adelsprädikat enthalten. Die Auflistung erfolgt in absteigender Reihenfolge. Denn vom Kaiser bis zum Edelmann gibt es zahlreiche Adelstitel. 

Kaiser / Zar 

Beim höchsten adeligen Herrschertitel handelt es sich um den Kaiser. Dieser wurde im russischen als Zar bezeichnet, weibliche Herrscher in Russland hießen Zariza. Die Nachkommen eines Zaren tragen den Titel Prinz oder Prinzessin. Anders sieht dies bei den russischen Zaren aus. Hier heißt der Son Zarewitsch und die Tochter Zarewa. Ebenfalls gängig sind die Bezeichnungen Großfürst oder Großfürstin für die Nachkommen eines Zaren. 

Die Ansprache des Kaisers erfolgt mit “Kaiserliche Majestät”. Nachkommen werden als Kaiserliche Hoheit bezeichnet. 

König 

Nach dem Kaiser folgt der König. Beim König handelt es sich um den zweithöchsten Adelstitel in der adeligen Rangfolge. Der König oder die Königin sind die höchsten Würdenträger in einer Monarchie. Neben der Rolle als gesetzgebende Gewalt kümmert sich der König auch um Rechtsprechung und Entscheidungen der Exekutive. Der adelige König vereint somit alle staatlichen Gewalten. 

Die Nachkommen des Königs und der der Königin werden ebenfalls als Prinz und Prinzessin bezeichnet. Wenn Untergebene den König direkt ansprechen, erfolgt dies mit “Königliche Majestät”. Der Prinz und Prinzessin sind auch hier die “Königliche Hoheit”. 

Erzherzog 

Beim Erzherzog handelt es sich um einen Adelstitel, der den Herrschern eines Erzherzogtums zustand. Dies waren insbesondere die Angehörigen der Habsburger oder des Erzherzogtums Österreich. Die Nachkommen der Häuser galten ebenfalls als Erzherzöge. Die Ansprache änderte sich im Laufe der Jahre. Zunächst erfolgte die Anrede mit Durchlauchtigste/r, während später der Prädikatstitel ebenfalls Kaiserliche oder Königliche Hoheit war. 

Großherzog 

Ein weiterer Herzog war der sogenannte Großherzog. Dieser Adelstitel stand denjenigen Fürsten zu, dessen Rang sich zwischen dem Herzog und dem jeweiligen König befand. Der Großherzog hatte somit weniger Macht als der König, aber zumeist mehr Einfluss als ein herkömmlicher Herzog. Die Nachkommen galten häufig auch hier als Prinz und Prinzessin. Ebenfalls verbreitet war die Ansprache der Kinder als Erbgroßherzog bzw. Erbgroßherzogin. Die Anrede “Allerdurchlauchigste/r” war als Prädikatstitel Usus. In bestimmten Großherzogtümern wie Hessen, Luxemburg oder Baden wurde eine andere Ansprache präferiert. Der Großherzog war hier die Königliche Hoheit. 

Kurfürst 

Der Kurfürst war im Heiligen Römischen Reich der ranghöchste Fürst. Allein die Kurfürsten hatten die Berechtigung und Ermächtigung, die Wahl des römisch-deutschen Königs im 13. Jahrhundert zu entscheiden. Der Kurfürst konnte zudem unterschiedliche Adelstitel tragen. Kurfürsten waren beispielsweise Landgrafen, Erzbischöfe oder sogar Könige. Die erste Zusammensetzung des Wahlausschusses eines Königs bestand aus sieben Kurfürsten. Vier von ihnen kam die Adelsehre aus weltlicher Sicht zuteil, während drei Kurfürsten geistlichen Ursprungs waren. Im 17. Jahrhunderte vergrößerte sich die Anzahl auf nunmehr neun Kurfürsten. Später bestand das sogenannte Kurfürstenkolleg, das zur Wahl des Königs zusammenkam, sogar aus zehn Mitgliedern. 

Nach der Auflösung des Heiligen Römischen Reichs durch Napoleon, gab es nur noch einen Kurfürsten. Lediglich Hessen-Kassel blieb Kurfürstentum. Rechtlich stand der Kurfürst fortan mit dem Landgrafen auf einer Ebene. Die Anrede für einen Kurfürsten war im Laufe der Zeit Durchlauchigste/r oder Königliche Hoheit. Demgegenüber hießen die Kinder Kurprinz und Kurprinzessin. 

Herzog 

Die Entstehung des Adelstitels Herzogs liegt in der germanischen Geschichte begründet. Der Herzog war der germanische Heerführer. Im Laufe der Zeit wurde der Herzog zu einem königlichen Amtsträger, dem allen voran militärische Aufgaben oblagen. Die Anrede des regierenden Herzogs erfolgte mit “Königliche Hoheit”: Nach Auflösung des Heiligen Römischen Reichs Deutscher Nation verloren die Herzöge ihre Herrschaftsrechte. Fortan waren die Herzöge schlichtweg Standesherren und wurden mit “Durchlaucht” angesprochen. 

Landgraf 

Der Landgraf ist ein Adelstitel, der ausschließlich im deutschsprachigen Raum vorkommt. Insbesondere in Thüringen und Hessen gab es einige Landgrafen. 1803 wurde der hessische Landgraf zum Kurfürsten erhöben. Die Landgrafen waren dem Rang des Herzogs gleichgestellt. Die Nachkommen sind der Prinz und die Prinzessin. Einzig und allein der letzte Landgraf von Hessen-Homburg wurde als Königliche Hoheit bezeichnet. Bei allen anderen Landgrafen galten die Prädikatstitel Hoheit und Durchlaucht. 

Pfalzgraf 

Dem Pfalzgraf oblag in der Geschichte die Aufgabe, den König und Kaiser bei der Verwaltung zu unterstützen. Der Pfalzgraf hatte den Vorsitz des Gerichts am königlichen Hof inne. Bittsteller mussten zum Pfalzgraf kommen und ihm ihre Anliegen vortragen. In jedem Herzogtum gab es zunächst einen Pfalzgrafen. Später gab es nur noch den Pfalzgraf bei Rhein, da die meisten Grafschaften im Laufe der Jahre einem großen Fürstentum zugewiesen wurden. Die Nachkommen galten auch hier als Prinz und Prinzessin. Die Anrede für den Pfalzgrafen lautete normalerweise “Durchlaucht”. Ausnahmsweise wurde der Kurfürst von Sachen als Pfalzgraf als “Königliche Hoheit” angesprochen. 

Markgraf 

Bis zum Ende des 11. Jahrhunderts wurden die Adeligen im Grenzraum des Reichs als Markgraf bezeichnet. Diese Führungsrolle wurde nicht näher ausgestaltet. Im Heiligen Römischen Reich gab es für den Adelstitel keinen geografischen Bezug mehr. Vielmehr stand der Adelstitel des Markgrafen für einen Rang innerhalb der Reichsfürsten Rangordnung. Der Markgraf war dem Rang des Herzogs im Mittelalter gleichgestellt. Nicht an jedem Ort war das Ansehen gleich groß. In vielen Ländern gehörte der Markgraf zum niederen Adel an. Eine Herrschaftsfunktion gab es für den Markgrafen nicht. Die Anrede schwankte von “Durchlaucht” zu “Erlaucht”: Die Nachkommen sind auch beim niederen Adel der Prinz und die Prinzessin. 

Fürst 

Der Fürst war der Herrscher über verschiedene Ländereien. Wenn das Land als Fürstentum ausgewiesen war, regierten die Fürsten über Grund und Boden. Die Anrede der Fürsten war “Hochfürstliche Durchlaucht”. Wenige Fürsten besaßen die besondere Ehre als Hoheit angesprochen zu werden. Die Erbprinzen und Erbprinzessin waren die Nachkommen der Fürsten. Teilweise wurde der Titel des Fürsten in der Geschichte auch nur ehrenhalber verlieren. Dann gingen keine Herrschafts- und Machtrechte mit dem Titel einher. Vielmehr gehörte der Inhaber des Adelstitels bei diesem Rang nicht zum Hochadel. Otto Fürst von Bismarck ist wohl der bekannteste seiner Art. 

Freiherr / Baron 

Auf der untersten Stufe des sogenannten Titular-Adels befinden sich der Freiherr und Baron. Darunter gibt es nur noch die Adeligen, bei denen es lediglich ein Adelsprädikat wie “von” oder “zu”, aber keinen Adelstitel gibt. Gleichgestellt sind der Freiherr und der Baron. Die männlichen Nachkommen führen den Titel weiter, während die weiblichen Nachkommen als Baronesse oder Freiin gelten. Die Angehörigen werden mit Hochgeboren angesprochen, was den edlen Stand des Adels entspricht. 

Ritter / Edler / Herr von / Frau von / Landmann von

Ganz unten in der Rangfolge befinden sich die Ritter, Edler, Herr von, Frau von und Landmann von. Um zum Ritter geschlagen zu werden, mussten die Anwärter zahlreiche Kriterien erfüllen. Ab dem 19. Jahrhundert gehörten die Ritter dann zu einem eigenen Adelsstand. Wer zum Ritter geschlagen wurde, bekam einen Adelstitel. 

Demgegenüber war die Anrede “Edler” kein Adelstitel, sondern lediglich ein Adelsprädikat. Dies galt für die gesamte Familie – sowohl Eltern als auch Nachkommen wurde als Edler/Edle bezeichnet. In der Rangfolge befindet sich der Edle unter dem geschlagenen Ritter. 

Der “Herr” war früher die Standesbezeichnung. Herr von oder Frau von galten als edle Bezeichnungen. Demgegenüber wurde der untitulierte Adel in einem Land als Landmann bezeichnet. Sämtliche niederen Adelstitel wurden als Hochwohlgeboren angesprochen.