1. Home
  2. Short excursion
  3. The current law of nobility

The current law of nobility - past and present

Das geltende Adelsrecht - Noble Society

    The law of nobility looks back on a long history. Already for more than 1500 years the nobility right is sometimes more sometimes less pronounced. However, the development of the last centuries was declining - the strong social changes in the 18th and 19th century provide for a loss of importance of the nobility and thus also the nobility law. Nevertheless, there are still legal regulations and special rights for members of the nobility today. It is therefore worthwhile to take a look at the history of the law of nobility, the law of names and the differences in obtaining and using the name suffix.

    The history of the law of nobility

    Herkunft und Entwicklung des Adels

    The origins of the law of nobility lie in the 6th century AD. At that time, the Frankish king Clovis the First created the so-called Lex Salica. As Germanic tribal law, the law henceforth applied to all members of the nobility on German soil. The Lex Salica was part of public law. On the one hand, legal regulations existed for all citizens, while at the same time certain exceptions were developed for the nobility. Thus, for the first time, a legal demarcation of the nobility from the bourgeoisie took place. In addition there were regulations for a transition into the nobility. If non-nobles wanted to belong to the nobility from then on, the regulations of the Lex Salica were relevant.

    In the later course of history, a division of the nobility into different classes took place. The members of the higher nobility could make use of numerous exemptions. These included a special procedural law, a special family law as well as inheritance law regulations in which the higher nobility was treated differently from the members of the bourgeoisie.

    Even after the entry into force of the Civil Code in 1900, the high nobility had a special role, as deviating regulations were laid down in a separate nobility law. A special nobility law thus did not exist exclusively at the beginning of the nobility. In addition a financial betterment of the nobility took place. These remained completely unaffected by the tax and customs duty, so that the duties of the nobles were clearly lower. This further contributed to the financial strengthening of the noble class.

    In the 19th century, there was even a separate authority for the nobility and the titles of nobility. The Prussian King Frederick William the IV created this authority in 1855. The aim of this was to improve the care of the members of the nobility. The so-called Heroldsamt promoted the enforcement of the right of nobility. Also the nobility right was subjected to numerous changes in the history. However, what most of the regulations have in common is that nobles were given a better legal status and preferential treatment.

    The fall of the monarchy and the new nobility law

    The fall of the monarchy was of seminal importance for the nobility and noble law. For the monarchical states were closely intertwined with the nobility. The Salic law of Clovis the First was basically valid until the end of the monarchy and the 1st World War. After 1918 the German imperial constitution came into force. This wrote in art. 109 that all privileges and disadvantages as a result of a privileging of birth or rank are abolished. The legal betterment of the nobility was a thing of the past.

    Henceforth, the titles of nobility were merely additions to the name, which were not officially awarded. Thus, the title of nobility became more accessible and transferable. The noble legal entitlement no longer played a role. Today, it is possible for you to buy a title of nobility and henceforth use it as a stage name.

    However, after the First World War there was still an examination by the responsible committee for nobility rights whether the nobility titles were correctly led. However, this was a special private law institution, so that it was no longer comparable with the state herald's office. Moreover, the decisions were exclusively binding for the members of the committee.

    Nevertheless, the Adelsrechtsausschuss still checks today whether a title of nobility is held in the correct historical manner. Thus, the ARA was created after World War II as a special private law institution, which is why it is no longer comparable to the Prussian Herald's Office. The ARA checks the affiliation to the 'historical nobility' on the basis of the Salic law; however, its decisions are not binding for anyone who is not a member.

    What is the difference between noble title, noble predicate and predicate title?

    Unsere Titel - Noble Society

    In addition to the title of nobility, the terms nobility predicate and predicate title also appear frequently at present. In this context, the title of nobility denotes the social position of its bearer. Thus, the title of nobility was still important in the Weimar Constitution for determining the respective protocol rank. In this rank system, the emperor was the highest rank, followed by king, duke, prince, baron, count, baron, knight, nobleman and squire as the lowest rank.

    Different forms of address were assigned to each of these noble titles. These are called nobility predicate and required, for example, the address of a duke as royal highness, while in the subordinate ranks counts were titled only as highness or barons only as Hochwohlgebohrene. Finally, today one regularly encounters the nobility predicate with names in all social classes. Behind it the name addition hides, which marked once noblemen as such. Here there is above all the 'von' as a designation of origin or the 'zu', which designates a change of residence - for example 'von Weißenfels zu Schwarzfels'. Conceivable, however, is also the combination 'von und zu', with which the nobility made their ancestral seat known for many years.

    Nobility predicates in the law of names

    Today, the noble predicate is subject only to the rules of the law on names. Therefore, it is also easier to obtain a noble name in different ways.

    Here it comes regularly to the acquisition of a nobility predicate by - marital or non-marital - birth as well as by name changes which take place in consequence of a marriage or adoption. Many combinations are conceivable - it is also possible for a woman to acquire the title of nobility as part of her husband's name and to pass it on to a third party in the event of divorce and remarriage. The acquisition of a nobility predicate by the pure request of a name change is regularly not possible, however. This is because such a change is only possible under strict conditions, whereby a psychological burden on the name bearer due to the name must be proven. However, the non-nobility of a name is unlikely to fulfil these criteria in practice.

    Differences between noble title, predicate title and noble predicate

    Baron und Baronin - Noble Society

    When looking at the law of nobility, different terms appear. The title of nobility, predicate title and the predicate of nobility describe a part of the nobility. But are the terms synonyms or are there differences?

    The title of nobility basically describes the position of the nobleman in society. It is a precise designation of the social position. Even in the Weimar Constitution, the title of nobility was still significant in determining one's rank. The emperor was at the top of the ranking list, followed by king, duke, prince, baron and so on.

    Depending on the title of nobility, a different form of address prevailed. This form of address was called a noble predicate. For example, dukes were addressed as royalty. While the noble title describes the social status, the noble predicate is the respective form of address. The same applies to the predicate title. Even today, the nobility predicate exists in numerous names regardless of the current social class. Especially the additions "von" or "zu" mark the origin of the name in the nobility and represent such a predicate title.

    Nobility predicates and the right to a name

    Nowadays, the nobility predicate still plays an important role in the legal context. However, there is no longer any specific nobility law. Rather, the nobility predicate is subject to the name law. Thus, it is easier for you to obtain a noble name and subsequently also to wear it.

    The acquisition of the nobility predicate is conceivable in different ways. Common are the acquisition of the name addition via birth, name changes, marriage or adoption. However, there are also numerous combinations and individual cases. However, as a rule, you cannot acquire the title of nobility exclusively with an application. This is only permissible under very strict conditions. A mental burden is required, so that the addition of the name must be mandatory for your mental health. Such proof based solely on a non-noble name is arguably difficult. Nevertheless, it is quite possible for you to acquire a noble title and peddle it.

    Acquire noble title by marriage, birth and adoption

    How do I become a nobleman? What does it mean to belong to the nobility? Basically, a predicate of nobility is not enough to become a noble. The mere predicates "of" and "to" do not determine membership in the nobility and first impression. Rather, a genuine title of nobility is required in order to be elevated to the nobility.

    Today, the acquisition of a classical noble title and entry into the nobility is easily possible only for women who acquire the noble title through marriage. However, in case of divorce, the title is lost just as quickly. Moreover, the passing on of the title by the woman to her children or the next husband is not allowed. Only legitimate children are considered nobles and can thus ascend to the nobility. Adoption, however, is another way to truly enter the nobility.

    Buy noble title - noble by purchase

    Is it possible to buy a title of nobility? Can one really become a true noble through a large fortune? Who wants to enter the nobility and wear a real noble title, can use the ways of marriage or adoption. In some cases, it happens that an adoption takes place due to high purchase sums. A prominent example is Prince Marcus of Anhalt, who had himself adopted and thus received a title of nobility. However the purchase of an adoption represents a large risk. This is basically immoral, so that all agreements made are void.

    A sensible alternative is therefore the purchase of a noble title from us. You may use this title like a title of nobility and use it as a kind of stage name. There are no limits to its use - drawing contracts or booking hotel rooms is equally permitted under your new noble title. In addition, you get an authentic certificate of appointment and your own coat of arms - without any risk.

    Rate this article

    [Total: 1 Average: 5]
    Rang im Adel - Adelstitel kaufen
    Short excursion

    Rank in nobility

    The influence of the nobility was greater before. Nevertheless, the title of nobility and rank of nobility still have a resounding splendor. The interest...
    Noble Privilegien - Titelbild
    Short excursion

    Noble privileges

    On the one hand, the title of nobility is considered exceedingly noble. Anyone who walks through the streets as a nobleman or who has a booking as a...

Kleine Exkursion » Das geltende Adelsrecht

Das geltende Adelsrecht – Vergangenheit und Gegenwart 

Das Adelsrecht blickt auf eine lange Geschichte zurück. Bereits seit mehr als 1500 Jahren ist das Adelsrecht mal mehr mal weniger stark ausgeprägt. Allerdings war die Entwicklung der letzten Jahrhunderte rückläufig – die starken gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert sorgen für einen Bedeutungsverlust des Adels und somit auch des Adelsrechts. Nichtsdestotrotz gibt es heute noch gesetzliche Regelungen und Sonderrechte für Angehörige des Adels. Es lohnt sich somit ein Blick auf die Geschichte des Adelsrechts, das Namensrecht und die Unterschiede bei der Erlangung und Verwendung des Namenszusatzes. 

Die Historie des Adelsrechts 

Die Ursprünge des Adelsrechts liegen im 6. Jahrhundert nach Christus begründet. Damals schuf der fränkische König Chlodwig der Erste die sogenannte Lex Salica. Als germanisches Stammesrecht galt das Gesetz fortan für alle Angehörigen des Adels auf deutschem Boden. Das Lex Salica gehörte zum öffentlichen Recht. Zum einen existierten rechtliche Regelungen für alle Bürger, während zugleich gewisse Ausnahmetatbestände für den Adelsstand entwickelt wurden. Es erfolgte somit erstmals eine rechtliche Abgrenzung der Adeligen vom Bürgertum. Zudem gab es Vorschriften für einen Übergang in den Adelsstand. Wenn Nicht-Adelige fortan zu den Edelmänner und -frauen gehören wollten, waren die Vorschriften der Lex Salica einschlägig. 

Im späteren Verlauf der Geschichte fand eine Einteilung des Adels in unterschiedliche Klassen statt. Die Angehörigen des höheren Adels konnten zahlreiche Ausnahmeregelungen in Anspruch nehmen. Dazu gehörten ein spezielles Prozessrecht, ein besonderes Familienrecht sowie erbrechtliche Regelungen, in denen der höhere Adel anders als die Angehörigen des Bürgertums behandelt wurde.

Selbst nach dem Inkrafttreten des Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuches im Jahr 1900 kam dem Hochadel eine Sonderrolle zu, da abweichende Regelungen in einem eigenen Adelsgesetz festgelegt waren. Ein spezielles Adelsrecht gab es somit nicht ausschließlich zu Beginn des Adelsstands. Zudem erfolgte eine finanzielle Besserstellung der Adeligen. Diese blieben von der Steuer- und Zollpflicht vollständig unberührt, sodass die Abgaben der Adeligen deutlich geringer waren. Dies trug weiterhin zur finanziellen Stärkung der Adelsschicht bei. 

Im 19. Jahrhundert existierte sogar eine eigene Behörde für den Adel und die Adelstitel. Der preußische König Friedrich Wilhelm der IV. schuf diese Behörde im Jahr 1855. Ziel dieses Vorhabens war eine bessere Betreuung der Angehörigen des Adelsstands. Das sogenannte Heroldsamt förderte die Durchsetzung des Adelsrechts. Auch das Adelsrecht war in der Historie zahlreichen Änderungen unterworfen. Den meisten Regelungen ist jedoch gemein, dass Adelige rechtlich bessergestellt und bevorzugt behandelt wurden. 

Der Sturz der Monarchie und das neue Adelsrecht 

Von bahnrechender Bedeutung für den Adelsstand und das Adelsrecht war der Sturz der Monarchie. Denn die monarchischen Staaten waren eng mit dem Adelsstand verflochten. Das salische Recht von Chlodwig dem Ersten galt grundsätzlich bis zum Ende der Monarchie und des 1. Weltkriegs. Nach 1918 trat die deutsche Reichsverfassung in Kraft. Dieser schrieb in Art. 109 fest, dass sämtliche Vorrechte und Nachteile infolge einer Privilegierung von Geburt oder Stand aufgehoben werden. Die gesetzliche Besserstellung des Adels gehörte der Vergangenheit an. 

Fortan waren die Adelstitel lediglich Zusätze zum Namen, die nicht offiziell vergeben wurden. Somit wurde der Adelstitel leichter zugänglich und übertragbar. Die adelsrechtliche Berechtigung spielte keine Rolle mehr. Heute ist es möglich, dass Sie sich einen Adelstitel kaufen und diesen fortan als Künstlernamen tragen. 

Allerdings erfolgte nach dem ersten Weltkrieg immer noch eine Prüfung durch den zuständigen Ausschuss für Adelsrechte, ob die Adelstitel korrekt geführt wurden. Dabei handelte sich jedoch um eine sonderprivatrechtliche Institution, sodass diese nicht mehr mit dem staatlichen Heroldsamt vergleichbar war. Die Entscheidungen waren zudem ausschließlich für die Mitglieder des Ausschusses bindend. 

Dennoch wird noch heute durch den Adelsrechtsausschuss geprüft, ob ein Adelstitel in der korrekten historischen Weise geführt wird. So wurde das ARA nach dem II. Weltkrieg als sonderprivatrechtliche Institution geschaffen, weshalb sie nicht mehr mit dem preußischen Heroldsamt vergleichbar ist. Der ARA prüft die Zugehörigkeit zum ‘historischen Adel’ anhand des salischen Rechts; seine Entscheidungen sind jedoch für jeden, der kein Mitglied ist, nicht bindend.

Worin unterscheiden sich Adelstitel, Adelsprädikat und Prädikatstitel?
Neben dem Adelstitel tauchen gegenwärtig häufig auch die Begriffe Adelsprädikat und Prädikatstitel auf. Dabei bezeichnet der Adelstitel die gesellschaftliche Stellung seines Trägers. So war der Adelstitel auch in der Weimarer Verfassung noch für die Ermittlung des jeweiligen protokollarischen Ranges wichtig. In diesem Rangsystem war der Kaiser der höchste Rang, gefolgt von König, Herzog, Fürst, Baron, Graf, Freiherr, Ritter, Edler und Junker als unterstem Rang. Dabei waren jedem dieser Adelstitel unterschiedliche Anredeformen zugeordnet. Diese werden als Adelsprädikat bezeichnet und erforderten zum Beispiel die Anrede eines Herzoges als königliche Hoheit, während in den untergeordneten Rängen Grafen lediglich als Hoheit oder Freiherren lediglich als Hochwohlgebohrene betitelt wurden. Schließlich trifft man das Adelsprädikat heute regelmäßig bei Namen in allen Gesellschaftsschichten an. Dahinter verbirgt sich der Namenszusatz, der einst Adlige als solche gekennzeichnet hat. Hier gibt es vor allem das ‘von’ als Herkunftsbezeichnung oder das ‘zu’, das einen Wohnsitzwechsel – beispielsweise ‘von Weißenfels zu Schwarzfels’, bezeichnet. Denkbar ist jedoch auch die Kombination ‘von und zu’, mit dem der Uradel seinen jahrelangen Stammsitz kenntlichen gemacht hat.

Adelsprädikate im Namensrecht
Heute ist das Adelsprädikat nur noch den Regelungen des Namensrechtes unterworfen. Daher ist es auch einfacher, einen adligen Namen auf verschiedenen Wegen zu erhalten.

Hier kommt es regelmäßig zum Erwerb eines Adelsprädikates durch – eheliche oder nichteheliche – Geburt sowie durch Namensänderungen, die in Folge einer Eheschließung oder Adoption erfolgen. Dabei sind viele Kombinationen denkbar – so ist es auch möglich, dass eine Frau das Adelsprädikat als Namensbestandteil ihres Ehemannes erwirbt und dieses bei einer Scheidung und erneuten Eheschließlung an einen Dritten weitergibt. Der Erwerb eines Adelsprädikates durch die reine Beantragung einer Namensänderung ist regelmäßig jedoch nicht möglich. Denn eine solche ist nur unter strengen Voraussetzungen möglich, wobei eine psychische Belastung des Namensträgers aufgrund des Namens nachgewiesen werden muss. Die Nichtadligkeit eines Namens dürfte diese Kriterien praktisch jedoch nicht erfüllen.

Unterschiede zwischen Adelstitel, Prädikatstitel und Adelsprädikat 

Bei einem Blick auf das Adelsrecht tauchen unterschiedliche Begriffe auf. Der Adelstitel, Prädikatstitel und das Adelsprädikat beschreiben einen Teil des Adelsstands. Doch sind die Begriffe Synonyme oder gibt es Unterschiede? 

Der Adelstitel beschreibt grundsätzlich die Stellung des Edelmanns in der Gesellschaft. Es handelt sich um eine genaue Bezeichnung der gesellschaftlichen Stellung. Selbst in der Weimarer Verfassung war der Adelstitel noch bedeutsam, um den jeweiligen Rang zu ermitteln. Der Kaiser stand oben auf der Rangliste, ihm folgten König, Herzog, Fürst, Baron und Co. Je nach Adelstitel herrschte eine unterschiedliche Anrede vor. Diese Anrede wurde als Adelsprädikat bezeichnet. Beispielsweise wurden Herzöge als königliche Hoheit angesprochen. Während der Adelstitel den gesellschaftlichen Stand beschreibt, ist das Adelsprädikat die jeweilige Anredeform. Das Gleiche gilt für den Prädikatstitel. Selbst heute gibt es das Adelsprädikat in zahlreichen Namen unabhängig von der heutigen Gesellschaftsschicht. Insbesondere die Zusätze “von” oder “zu” kennzeichnen, den Ursprung des Namens im Adelsrecht und stellen einen derartigen Prädikatstitel dar. 

Adelsprädikate und das Namensrecht 

Heutzutage spielt das Adelsprädikat im rechtlichen Kontext immer noch eine wichtige Rolle. Allerdings gibt es kein spezielles Adelsrecht mehr. Vielmehr unterliegt das Adelsprädikat dem Namensrecht. Somit ist es für Sie einfacher, einen adeligen Namen zu erhalten und im Anschluss auch zu tragen. 

Der Erwerbung des Adelsprädikats ist auf unterschiedliche Weisen denkbar. Gängig sind der Erwerb des Namenszusatzes via Geburt, Namensänderungen, Heirat oder Adoption. Allerdings gibt es zudem zahlreiche Kombinationen und Einzelfälle. Allerdings können Sie in der Regel das Adelsprädikat nicht ausschließlich mit einem Antrag erwerben. Dies ist nur unter sehr strengen Voraussetzungen zulässig. Eine psychische Belastung ist erforderlich, sodass der Namenszusatz für Ihre geistige Gesundheit zwingend notwendig sein muss. Ein derartiger Nachweis nur aufgrund eines nichtadeligen Namens fällt wohl schwer. Nichtsdestotrotz ist es für Sie gut möglich, ein Adelsprädikat zu erwerben und mit einem Adelstitel hausieren zu gehen. 

Adelstitel erwerben durch Heirat, Geburt und Adoption 

Wie werde ich ein Adeliger? Was bedeutet die Zugehörigkeit zum Adelsstand? Grundsätzlich genügt ein Adelsprädikat nicht aus, um Adeliger zu werden. Die reinen Prädikate “von” und “zu” entscheiden nicht über Zugehörigkeit zum Adel und ersten Eindruck. Vielmehr muss ein echter Adelstitel her, um in den Adelsstand gehoben zu werden. Heute ist der Erwerb eines klassischen Adelstitels und Eintritt in den Adelsstand nur für Frauen leicht möglich, die durch Heirat den Adelstitel erwerben. Bei einer Scheidung geht der Titel jedoch ebenso schnell wieder verloren. Zudem ist die Weitergabe des Titels durch die Frau an ihre Kinder oder den nächsten Mann nicht erlaubt. Lediglich eheliche Kinder gelten als Adlige und können somit in den Adelsstand aufsteigen. Die Adoption stellt jedoch eine weitere Möglichkeit dar, um wirklich in den Adelsstand zugegangen. 

Adelstitel kaufen – Edel durch Kauf

Ist der Kauf eines Adelstitels möglich? Kann man wirklich durch ein großes Vermögen ein echter Adeliger werden? Wer in den Adelsstand eintreten und einen echten Adelstitel tragen möchte, kann die Wege der Heirat oder Adoption nutzen. Teilweise kommt es vor, dass eine Adoption aufgrund hoher Kaufsummen erfolgt. Ein prominentes Beispiel ist Prinz Marcus von Anhalt, der sich adoptieren ließ und somit einen Adelstitel bekam. Allerdings stellt der Kauf einer Adoption ein großes Risiko dar. Dieser ist grundsätzlich sittenwidrig, sodass sämtliche getroffenen Vereinbarungen nichtig sind. 

Eine sinnvolle Alternative ist somit der Kauf eines Adelstitels bei uns. Diesen dürfen Sie gleich einem Adelstitel führen und wie eine Art Künstlernamen nutzen. Dabei sind der Verwendung keine Grenzen gesetzt – das Zeichnen von Verträgen oder das Buchen von Hotelzimmern ist gleichermaßen unter Ihrem neuen Adelstitel zulässig. Zudem gibt es eine authentische Ernennungsurkunde und ein eigenes Wappen – ganz ohne Risiko.